Leadership 2020-10-12T10:16:29-07:00
CWA Board of Trustees 2019-2020
The 2019-20 Board of Trustees

Who stands behind Charles Wright?
A group of committed parents, alumni, and civic leaders who volunteer their time and expertise on the CWA Board of Trustees. We greatly appreciate their talents in guiding and supporting the school.

The Organization

Charles Wright is a nondiscriminatory, nonprofit organization tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. CWA is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) and is an accredited member of the Northwest Association of Independent Schools (NWAIS). CWA is also approved as a private school by the Washington Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

nais-member-logo-thumb NWAIS-logo_thumb


The Board of Trustees of Charles Wright Academy has paramount responsibility for the governance of the school. The Board of Trustees exists to make decisions and take action to ensure the viability of Charles Wright’s mission into the future—for the current students’ children. The Head of School is delegated the responsibility for the school’s day-to-day management and operation. The Board has the duty and authority to:

  • Craft and periodically review the school’s mission statement and ensure that the mission is pursued consistently and effectively
  • Select, help, and encourage the Head of School, monitor his or her performance, and determine whether to continue his or her appointment
  • Develop plans for the long-term future of the school and monitor progress toward the achievement of those plans
  • Ensure the school has adequate financial resources to support its programs
  • Assess the quality of the school’s programs in fulfilling its mission
  • Preserve the school’s independence: its ability to be self-governing and to determine its own mission
  • Foster interaction between the school and the community
  • Oversee the legal affairs of the school


The bylaws allow for a total of 31 Trustees. The Head of School serves as a non-voting member of the Board. Trustees are elected by the Board to serve up to two consecutive three-year terms, with an option for an additional two-year term.

Standing Committees

There are eight standing committees of the Board, with a majority of members who are Trustees. In addition, ad hoc committees are created as needed. The standing committees are:

  • Executive Committee: exercises the powers of the Board (except on matters requiring a two-thirds vote of the Board) during intervals between Board meetings; provides counsel to the Board Chair
  • Finance Committee: advises the Board on the use of the school’s financial resources
  • Development Committee: advises the Board on fund-raising and community engagement
  • Board Governance Committee: advises the Board on the selection of new Trustees and officers and annually reviews the work of each Trustee and of the Board as a whole
  • Audit Committee: arranges for and reviews an annual audit of the school’s finances
  • Head of School Evaluation and Compensation Committee: evaluates the performance of the Head of School and determines the Head of School’s annual compensation
  • Endowment Committee: develops, reviews, and oversees policies for the investment and spending of the school’s endowment funds—and chooses and monitors the performance of the investment advisor, compliance with endowment policies, and the accounting for the endowment