2018 Athletics at a Glance

///2018 Athletics at a Glance

2018 Athletics at a Glance

League and District Championships

Girls tennis League and District Champions

Zoe Rose (9th grade) League & District Champion, 3rd place state tournament

Baseball League Champions

Billy Chissoe (Nisqually Offensive MVP)  & TAC Boys Soccer Athlete of the Year

Jahan Bains (9th grade) League and district Champion, 2nd place state

Coach of the Year

Colin Walters (Baseball)

Jon Flies (Girls Track & Field)

Nick Bivins (Boys Golf)

Girls Track & Field League Champs

Boys tennis

Raghav Agrawal 6th in state tournament

Cole Harrington/Micah Wibowo 3rd in state tournament

Nisqually League Championships


Boys Cross Country

Girls Cross Country

Boys Tennis

District 3 Championships


Boys Tennis

Volleyball 2nd place in state tournament

The Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams finished in 2nd place in districts to each clinch an allocation to state. Adam Briejer won the 1A State Championship.

Boys Tennis District Tournament (Individual)

Raghav Agrawal (Singles Champion)

Cole Harrington and Micah Wibowo (Doubles Champions)

Jimmy Opitz and Max Jorgenson (2nd in Doubles)

***State Tennis Tournament is in the Spring.

Abbie Jackson signed a letter of intent to play volleyball at University of Houston.

Sportsmanship Awards

Boys Cross Country

Girls Cross Country

Nisqually Coach of The Year

Ryan Johnson — Girls Cross Country

Ryan Johnson — Boys Cross Country

Mindy McGrath — Volleyball

Fall Post-Season Awards


Abbie Jackson — MVP 1A State Player of the Year, MVP of 1A Volleyball Tournament, 1st Team All-Area (Tacoma News Tribune)

Nicole Kelly — 2nd team 1A All-State, 2nd Team All-Area (Tacoma News Tribune)

Mindy McGrath — 1A State Coach of the Year


Cade Cochran —USA Today 2nd Team linebacker for Washington (all classifications)

Tacoma Athletic Commission

CWA fall coaches nominated a student-athlete to represent CWA for their respective sport. 3 (out of 7 sports recognized) of our student-athletes were chosen as the Tacoma Athlete of the Year for their respective sport. Below is the list:

Abbie Jackson — TAC Volleyball Athlete of the Year

Adam Briejer —TAC Boys Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Raghav Agrawal — TAC Boys Tennis Athlete of the Year

The above 3 athletes are eligible for awards and scholarships at the end of the year banquet in June.

Athletic Director of the Year:

Tyler Francis (Charles Wright Academy)

By | 2019-02-20T13:01:31-08:00 February 20th, 2019|Blog, Blog & News|0 Comments

Leave A Comment